Simon Evans, Comedy, TotalNtertainmnet, Edinburgh, Fringe Festival

Simon Evans is heading to London

This show is about personal revelations that have recently turned his world upside down. 

The Work of the Devil marches on, as Simon Evans’ tour continues ..

This show is about personal revelations that have recently turned his world upside down.  In 2019, Evans adapted to unexpected personal revelations of a quite extraordinary nature, and used them to re-examine his entire 23-year career in comedy to date. And in so doing he has, in the words of Chortle’s Jay Richardson, “Exceeded what seemed to be his full potential”.

Simon Evans is one of the country’s best-loved stand-up comedians, with a loyal fan base who greatly appreciate his intelligent and independent scrutiny of the modern world. His tongue-in-cheek, often rueful attachment to traditionalism, and his scepticism towards the claimed achievements of progressive politics and modernist aesthetics, have set him apart from many of his contemporaries.

As well as making him a firm favourite on the usual platforms – Live at the Apollo, the Edinburgh Festival and the corporate circuit in particular – these qualities allow him to provide much-needed latitude and offer a diversity of views on TV and radio programmes, from BBC One’s Question Time to Radio 4’s The News Quiz. He has also written and presented five series of the groundbreaking economics/comedy hybrid Simon Evans Goes to Market, also for Radio 4.

Saturday, 24th September Hemel Hempstead Old Town Hall oldtownhall.co.uk
Thursday, 29th September Maidstone Hazlitt Theatre www.parkwoodtheatres.co.uk/Hazlitt-Theatre
Saturday, 1st October London Bloomsbury Theatre www.ents24.com
Friday, 7th October Radlett Centre www.radlettcentre.co.uk
Saturday, 15th October Diss Corn Hall www.thecornhall.co.uk
Sunday, 16th October Basingstoke The Haymarket www.anvilarts.org.uk
Thursday, 27th October Winchester Theatre Royal www.theatreroyalwinchester.co.uk
Friday, 28th October Oxford Playhouse www.oxfordplayhouse.com
Saturday, 29th October Bracknell South Hill Park www.southhillpark.org.uk
Saturday, 5th November Aldershot West End Centre www.westendcentre.co.uk
Tuesday, 8th November Cardigan Mwldan mwldan.co.uk
Wednesday, 9th November Milford Haven Torch Theatre www.torchtheatre.co.uk
Saturday, 12th November Carmarthen Lyric Theatre www.theatrausirgar.co.uk
Saturday, 19th November Finchley Arts Depot www.artsdepot.co.uk