Foals’ career-spanning ‘Collected Reworks’ remix series has led to a rediscovery of their rich back catalogue of dance and electronica interpretations, while also introducing brand new takes from the likes of Hot Since 82 and KUU. The band will complete the series by releasing ‘Collected Reworks Vol 3’ on October 9th. The ‘Collected Reworks’ triple-vinyl box set will be released the next day as part of the celebrations for National Album Day.
‘Collected Reworks Vol 3’ will be launched with Paul Woolford’s remix of the fan favourite ‘My Number’, the original of which is both the band’s most streamed track and highest charting single. Woolford plays on its immediately infectious qualities by reimagining it as a big room crowd-pleaser: punchy piano house and some trance-like ambience providing the backdrop for those anthemic backing vocals to stand-out in a completely new context.
Since his early days as resident DJ at Back To Basics, Paul Woolford has worked across genres and aliases – most notably as Special Request – on labels including Phonica, Planet E and Hotflush. He’s also an in-demand remixer with credits including Dua Lipa, Years & Years and Disclosure.
‘Collected Reworks Vol. III’ also debuts two other brand new mixes, both of which come from rising artists. Under the tutelage of Tomos, ‘Into The Surf’ drifts into minimalist electronica that possesses a similar meditative vibe to his Majestic Casual release ‘An Intermission’. ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 2’ is also represented by Joe Corti’s take on ‘Dreaming Of’. The young Londoner, best known for his China White events at Corsica Studios, recently dropped a split EP with Madcat via Pusic Records.
The rest of the collection has been sourced from the archives, with many of the tracks now debuting on streaming services.
Kieran Hebden (Four Tet) weighs in with ‘Balloons’ and ‘Tron’, the former feeling like complete reconstruction of the original rather than a remix, and the latter full of glitchy, unorthodox experimentation. Fellow Oxford band Trophy Wife bring funk and disco grooves to ‘My Number’ with a mix that gained popularity with its inclusion on ‘FIFA 14’. The band feature Kit Monteith, who has since collaborated with Foals on various visual content including the music video for ‘On The Luna’. Finally, Clint Mansell’s widescreen take on ‘Give It All’ is suitably cinematic in scope, infusing Foals with the atmosphere that permeates his scores for films such as ‘Requiem For A Dream’ and ‘Black Swan’.
The ‘Collected Reworks’ triple-vinyl box set collates highlights from the series on yellow, green and pink discs. Hot Chip, Alex Metric, Mura Masa and Solomun are among the features remixers. Its available to pre-order here.
The band will also be hosting a Lockdown After Party at 10pm BST on Friday, October 9th. Fans will be pointed to a microsite to stream ‘Collected Reworks. Vol III’ whilst chatting with the band via Instagram Live. This will be followed with a Reddit AMA (on r/indieheads) at 8pm BST on Tuesday, October 13th.
Foals are set to make a long-awaited return to live shows in 2021. Their rearranged UK tour includes three nights at London’s Olympia, which they’ll follow with domestic festival headline sets at TRNSMT and Sounds of the City. Meanwhile, their European festival schedule includes sets at Hurricane, Mad Cool and Super Rock Super Bock. Please see their official website for a full list of shows and ticket details.
‘Collected Reworks Vol. III’ tracklist:
  1. ‘My Number’ (Extended) – Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs
  2. ‘Give It All’ – Lindstrøm
  3. ‘Miami’ – diskJokke
  4. ‘Dreaming Of’ – Joe Corti
  5. ‘Balloons’ – Kieran Hebden
  6. ‘Olympic Airways’ – Supermayer
  7. ‘My Number’ – Paul Woolford
  8. ‘Spanish Sahara’ – Mount Kimbie
  9. ‘Bad Habit’ – Voyeur
  10. ‘Into the Surf’ – Tomos
  11. ‘My Number’ – Trophy Wife
  12. ‘Tron’ – Kieran Hebden
  13. ‘Late Night’ – Koreless
  14. ‘Give It All’ – Clint Mansell

Write A Comment