To coincide with their 4th anniversary, Deptford Northern Soul Club have announced the release of their first ever limited-edition vinyl boxset, which will feature all 12 of the 7” vinyl records released through Deptford Northern Soul Club Records since its launch in December 2019. The boxset will be available exclusively via their Bandcamp page on 4th December.

Featuring 12 7” records, exclusive patches, stickers and a 2020 Zine, the boxset is an exclusive and collectable release to mark a year since Deptford Northern Soul Club launched their label and four years since they began the first of their popular club nights.

Will and Lewis say; We’re really excited to share the first twelve records from Deptford Northern Soul Club Records in a limited-edition boxset, marking the first anniversary of the label and 4 years of Deptford Northern Soul Club.  It’s been a bad year to start a label and we’re so thankful to everyone who has supported us over the last twelve months. We can’t wait until we can return to clubs and festivals around the world.”

Launching the label in November 2019 in association with PIAS, the first release was rare vinyl find Lester Tipton’s This Won’t Change, with a B-side of Edward Hamilton and The Arabians Baby Don’t You Weep. Both tracks epitomised what the label are all about; showcasing quality classic soul records in the way in which they were meant to be heard to both new and old soul fans.

The full tracklising for the boxset is as follows:

DNSCR001 – Lester Tipton – This Won’t Change / Edward Hamilton – Baby Don’t You Weep
DNSCR002 – Candi Staton – Now You’ve Got The Upper Hand / Chappells – You’re Acting Kind Of Strange
DNSCR003 – The Delreys Incorporated – Destination Unknown / Oscar Wright – Fell In Love
DNSCR004 – Jimmy James & The Vagabonds – This Heart Of Mine / Sonya Spence – Let Love Flow On
DNSCR005 – Lou Courtney – Trying To Find My Woman / Lee Dorsey – Give It Up
DNSCR006 – Herb Ward – Honest To Goodness / Bob Brady & The Con Chords – Everybody’s Goin’ To The Love-In
DNSCR007 – Marvin Gaye – This Love Starved Heart Of Mine (It’s Killing Me) / Shorty Long – Don’t Mess With My Weekend
DNSCR008 – Willi J & Co. – Boogie With Your Baby / Rare Function – Disco Function
DNSCR009 – The Isley Brothers – Why When Love Is Gone / Brenda Holloway – Can’t Hold The Feeling Back
DNSCR010 – Garnet Mimms – As Long As I Have You / As Long As I Have You (Single Version)
DNSCR011 – Jackie Wilson – Because Of You / Doris & Kelley – You Don’t Have To Worry
DNSCR012 – Tyrone Davis – Slip Away / Gene Chandler – There Was A Time

More info on the boxset can be found by signing up to their mailing list here.

Write A Comment