Fyfe & Iskra Strings, Music News, New Single, Purpose, TotalNtertainment

Fyfe & Iskra Strings share new track ‘Purpose

The album is available to pre-order or pre-save. All vinyl copies will be produced using recycled vinyl.

Fyfe & Iskra Strings have previewed their upcoming album ‘Interiority’ by sharing eclectic recent tracks which have moved from haunting broken beats (‘<deletia>’) to soothing, cinematic splendour (the title track) to rousing dramatic elegance (‘Night Sky’). While all three songs possess an evident beauty, they today take a fresh leftfield turn with the new track ‘Purpose’ which features the two-time Mercury Prize nominee Ghostpoet. LISTEN HERE. Watch the Lyric video HERE.

A caustic counterpoint to the duo’s most transcendent moments, ‘Purpose’ sets its mood with clattering industrial percussion and Ghostpoet’s deeply intoned lyrics – more spoken word than rapped – add to its discomforting ambience as his cultured words (“catacombed in self-doubt”) tap into the turmoil of being consumed by existential thoughts.

Iskra Strings says, “We’ve been massive fans of Ghostpoet since ‘Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam’. He’s an artist that has us hanging on his every word. It’s such an honour to have him collaborate on ‘Purpose’.”

Fyfe comments, “We could hear Ghostpoet’s voice and creative influence on this piece of music from the moment of its conception. We’re huge fans of his creativity across multiple mediums and for the track to have come to fruition in the way that it has has been a joy for us.”

Ghostpoet adds, “Seeking purpose, it’s a lifelong pursuit.”

‘Purpose’ presents another angle on the varied textures and tones that emerge throughout ‘Interiority’. Its varied guestlist also features Rae Morris, Mysie, Kelly Lee Owens and Aquilo, while other key contributions include mixing from Manon Grandjean (Dave, Stormzy, AJ Tracey) and mastering by Heba Kadry (Björk, Deerhunter, Beach House).

The album is available to pre-order or pre-save HERE. All vinyl copies will be produced using recycled vinyl. The Super Deluxe package is also sure to be a future collectors’ item. Limited to just 25 copies, it features a section of the original painting of the album’s sleeve which will be signed by artist Dan Whiteson; a personal handwritten note from Fyfe & Iskra Strings; and copies of the album on both vinyl and CD.

In addition to his own albums, the most recent of which was 2020’sI Grow Tired But Dare Not Fall Asleep’, Ghostpoet has also collaborated with or remixed Massive Attack, Alt-J, The Streets, Birdy, Metronomy, Mica Levi and Lost Horizons.