Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds have today released new song ‘Open The Door, See What You Find’ ahead of the eagerly anticipated new studio album ‘Council Skies’, released on Friday via Sour Mash Records. Listen here and watch visualiser here. 

Speaking about the track, Noel says “Lyrically, the premise is that, at a certain point in your life you look in a mirror and you see all you’ve ever been and all you’re ever going to be. It’s about being happy with that. Being happy with where you are in life, with who you are, and where you’re going. Life is good!”

‘Open The Door, See What You Find’ also features longtime friend and collaborator Johnny Marr on guitar. This is the fifth new song to be revealed from ‘Council Skies’ following ‘Pretty Boy’ (also featuring Johnny Marr), ‘Easy Now’, the epic ‘Dead To The World’ and current single ‘Council Skies.’ 

All have received widespread acclaim from media and fans alike and early album reviews have been unanimous in their praise. ‘Council Skies’ has been described as “his best post-Oasis album” by MOJO, “His most personal album in decades” by The Big Issue, “Noel hits his solo stride” by UNCUT and “some of the best songs of his post-Oasis career” by Rolling Stone UK. Record Collector awarded Council Skies their Album Of The Month, declaring “exactly the album Gallagher should be making to remind people how good he can be”.

A decade since the formation of the High Flying Birds, and having achieved four consecutive UK Number One albums, ‘Council Skies’, produced by Noel and Paul ‘Strangeboy’ Stacey, is the band’s fourth studio album and widely regarded as Noel’s most complete solo statement to date. 

The release of ‘Council Skies’ will kick start a huge live season for the band beginning with a 26 date USA tour,
co-headlining with US alternative rockers Garbage which starts on Friday coinciding with album release.  The band then return to the UK in July to play an array of UK outdoor shows and headline festival performances, including a massive homecoming gig at Manchester’s Wythenshawe Park on August Bank Holiday weekend. This is followed by a full UK arena tour throughout December 2023. Tickets are on sale here.

‘Council Skies’ is available to pre-order now on CD, heavyweight vinyl with bonus 7”, LP picture disc plus various digital formats including a Dolby Atmos spatial audio version. The previously released Robert Smith remix of ‘Pretty Boy’ is featured on deluxe limited-edition triple vinyl and 2CD formats which also include a stunning live session version of ‘Live Forever’ and a remix from Pet Shop Boys. A printed handwritten lyric sheet of title track ‘Council Skies’ will be included with all album pre-orders via the official store.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds UK Summer Shows: 

21 Jul Buckinghamshire, Pennfest (Headlining)

23 Jul Nottingham, Wollaton Park Splendour Festival (Headlining)

28 Jul London, Crystal Palace Bowl SOLD OUT 

30 Jul Brighton, On The Beach (Headlining) SOLD OUT

04 Aug Bingley, Bingley Weekender (Headlining)

05 Aug Saffron Waldon, Essex Audley End SOLD OUT

19 Aug Monmouthshire, Caldicot Castle SOLD OUT

20 Aug Sedgefield, Co Durham Hardwick Festival

24 Aug Somerset, Taunton Vivary Park

26 Aug Manchester, Wythenshawe Park

27 Aug Dublin, Royal Hospital, Kilmainham

30 Aug Hull, Bonus Arena SOLD OUT

01 Sep Sheffield, Rock N Roll Circus, Don Valley Bowl (Headlining)

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds 2023 UK Arena Tour Dates:

14 Dec London, OVO Arena Wembley 

15 Dec Birmingham, Utilita Arena Birmingham

17 Dec Cardiff, Cardiff International Arena

18 Dec Leeds, First Direct Arena

20 Dec Glasgow, OVO Hydro

21 Dec Liverpool, M&S Bank Arena

Comments are closed.