Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds today release new single ‘Council Skies’ – the powerful title track taken from the eagerly anticipated new studio album, due for release 2nd June via Sour Mash Records. Listen to the single here and sign up for the official Video YouTube premiere here, taking place tonight at 6PM BST. 

Noel reflects “All the dreams I had as a youth were underneath council skies.” ‘Council Skies’ opens an introspective and personal commentary on Noel’s most formative years, and the wider themes of the forthcoming album. Wistful and evocative, the track has layered instrumentation, including strings recorded at the legendary Abbey Road Studios.  

In keeping with the themes of ‘Council Skies’, the single is accompanied by a new video filmed in Manchester and captures the band performing inside the city’s stunning historic venue New Century Hall – a key location in Manchester’s musical heritage having hosted performances by Jimi Hendrix and The Rolling Stones. Directed by long-time High Flying Birds collaborators Dan Cadan and Jonathan Mowatt, the music video also features a cameo from another Mancunian legend… Sign up for the official Video YouTube premiere here, taking place tonight at 6PM BST. 

This new single is the fourth to be revealed from the forthcoming album, following the singles ‘Pretty Boy’ featuring Johnny Marr and ‘Easy Now’, plus ‘Dead To The World’ which Noel says is, “by some distance my favourite tune on the album.” All tracks have received critical acclaim from media and fans alike, building anticipation for the new record. 

A decade since the formation of High Flying Birds and having achieved four UK Number One albums, ‘Council Skies’, produced by Noel and Paul ‘Strangeboy’ Stacey, is the band’s fourth studio album and Noel’s most complete solo statement to date. 

The artwork, shot by renowned Manchester photographer Kevin Cummins, sees Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ live equipment set up in the original centre spot of what was Maine Road Football Stadium. 2023 marks 100 years since the ground was opened and forever remains Manchester City FC’s spiritual home.

‘Council Skies’ is available to pre-order now on CD, heavyweight vinyl with bonus 7”, LP picture disc plus various digital formats including a Dolby Atmos spatial audio version. The previously released Robert Smith remix of ‘Pretty Boy’ is featured on deluxe limited-edition triple vinyl and 2CD formats which also include a stunning live session version of ‘Live Forever’ and a remix from Pet Shop Boys. A printed handwritten lyric sheet of title track ‘Council Skies’ will be included with all album pre-orders via the official store.

The release of ‘Council Skies’ will kick start a huge live season for the band, starting with a 26 date USA tour,
co-headlining with US alternative rockers Garbage which will begin on 2nd June. The band then return to the UK to play an array of UK outdoor shows & headline festival performances, including a massive homecoming gig at Manchester’s Wythenshawe Park on August Bank Holiday weekend. Also recently announced – a full UK arena tour throughout December 2023. Tickets are on sale here.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds UK Summer Shows: 

21 Jul Buckinghamshire, Pennfest (Headlining)

23 Jul Nottingham, Wollaton Park Splendour Festival (Headlining)

28 Jul London, Crystal Palace Bowl

30 Jul Brighton, On The Beach (Headlining)

04 Aug Bingley, Bingley Weekender (Headlining)

05 Aug Saffron Waldon, Essex Audley End

19 Aug Monmouthshire, Caldicot Castle

20 Aug Sedgefield, Co Durham Hardwick Festival

24 Aug Somerset, Taunton Vivary Park

26 Aug Manchester, Wythenshawe Park

27 Aug Dublin, Royal Hospital, Kilmainham

30 Aug Hull, Bonus Arena

01 Sep Sheffield, Rock N Roll Circus, Don Valley Bowl (Headlining)

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds 2023 UK Arena Tour Dates:

14 Dec London, OVO Arena Wembley 

15 Dec Birmingham, Utilita Arena Birmingham

17 Dec Cardiff, Cardiff International Arena

18 Dec Leeds, First Direct Arena

20 Dec Glasgow, OVO Hydro

21 Dec Liverpool, M&S Bank Arena

Deluxe Album Tracklist: 

Comments are closed.