Queen Zee, Liverpool, Punk, music, totalntertainment

Queen Zee release new single ‘Loner’

“… They’re strange people from Liverpool. I don’t wanna say they’re dirty, they look a little weird, but they rock like crazy …” IGGY POP

Following on from the release of their debut self-titled album, dynamic Merseyside outfit QUEEN ZEE have released their latest single, LONER, out now via the band’s own Sasstone Records. Following an exclusive premiere on the Jack Saunders show on BBC Radio One, LONER is available now as a free download on iTunes.

The tongue in cheek album opener LONER is a bouncing, ska-infused anthem and firm live favourite, full of the unique QUEEN ZEE brand of sass. The anarchic, enigmatic band have rapidly established a cult following over the last year as they continue to defy convention and subvert what it means to be a band. The album’s ten tracks perfectly capture the mania of their infamous live shows and firmly cements them as torch-bearers of a new generation of British guitar bands.

2018 was an explosive year for QUEEN ZEE, culminating in a full UK tour in support of Dream Wife and a riotous hometown headline show in Liverpool. Last year the band also won PRS Flash Funding at The Great Escape Festival, which enabled them to put their madness into this debut record, and were then awarded PRS Momentum Funding to continue the journey.

The band have also continued to gain attention at radio with previous single HUNGER PAINS being supported by Iggy Pop on his BBC 6 Music show; SASS OR DIE making the Radio X playlist and being awarded John Kennedy’s Track of The Week; earning Huw Stephens’ Tip of The Week on two occasions alongside notable mentions from Steve Lamacq on BBC 6 Music and BBC Introducing, soon followed by an invitation to the BBC Maida Vale Studios for a live session and interview aired on BBC Radio One.

Fronted by the peculiar and direct ZENA DAVINE [aka Queen Zee] the band is completed by co-founding member and multi-instrumentalist JASON TAYLOR-BROWN, alongside FRANKIE WORTHO [bass and vocals] ASH SUMMERS [keyboards, percussion and vocals] and Dave Bloom [drums and Percussion].