The Lathums, Music News, New Single, Struggle, Tour Dates, TotalNtertainment

THE LATHUMS dig deep with ‘Struggle’

New album, From Nothing To A Little Bit More, released Fri 3 March 2023

Singing the things that can be so difficult to say, The Lathums return with new single, Struggle, the honest and full-hearted opening track from their upcoming, second album, From Nothing To A Little Bit More. Putting the picture of personal fragility into the frame of their advancing sonic capabilities and two-years-older, two-years-wiser grip on their band’s direction, the track boosts the three-piece’s prowess as their generation’s surging, profound songwriting force.

The single’s accompanying video strikes an autobiographical tone with singer and songwriter, Alex Moore delivering the song’s deep and meaningful lyrics alongside visions of his former self, searching for the moment when innocence faded and music arrived as salvation.

Now set for release on Fri 3 March 2023 on Island Records, The Lathums’ follow up to their hugely successful, 2021 debut album How Beautiful Life Can Be comes loaded with, in the words of humbly gifted frontman Moore himself, more of the ‘sad and strange’ that arrived cloaked in upbeat jangle pop and festival-sized choruses first time around.

Leaving a door ajar for listeners to peer into the dual catalysts of trauma and hope that have always powered The Lathums’ kitchen-sink-meets-main-stage, serotonin-flooded storytelling, the band’s latest release finds a place naturally beside tracks already lifted from From Nothing To A Little Bit More, including the soaring and visceral Sad Face Babythe growling euphoria of Say My Name and piano-led, heartbreaker, Turmoil.

Reflecting on another giant leap into the feelings that simmer below the surface, Moore says of writing Struggle“It’s about loss, someone who has gone from your life and has its roots in our early college days. Scott [Concepcion – guitars/piano] has a piano in his house and up to that point I’d never had contact with the piano, but the more we hung out, the more I played around on it. This is the song that came out of me and it’s been difficult to show people up until now. It’s so personal.”

All upcoming live dates for the band, including the previously announced Spring 2023 Tour dates are as follows:

  • Sat 21 Jan – Wigan, Wigan Roller Rink inc. Matinee Show
  • Mon 6 Feb – Glasgow, McChuills
  • Tue 7 Feb- Middlesbrough, Hit The Bar
  • Thu 9 Feb- Wigan, Fat Bird
  • Fri 10 Feb – Hull, Polar Bear
  • Sat 11 Feb- London, The Lexington
  • Mon 6 Mar – Liverpool, Mountford Hall, Liverpool University – SOLD OUT
  • Tue 7 Mar – Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumbria Students Union
  • Thu 9 Mar – Sheffield, O2 Academy Sheffield
  • Fri 10 Mar – Glasgow, O2 Academy Glasgow
  • Sat 11 Mar – Manchester, Albert Hall – SOLD OUT
  • Mon 13 Mar – Norwich, The Waterfront
  • Tue 14 Mar – Cardiff, Cardiff University, Great Hall
  • Thu 16 Mar – Nottingham, Rock City
  • Fri 17 Mar – Birmingham, O2 Institute Birmingham
  • Sat 18 Mar – London, Roundhouse

The opportunity to sign up for future announcements as well as booking links for any remaining tickets can be found on The Lathums Official website at www.thelathums.com