Waxflower, The Sound Of What Went Wrong, Music News, TotalNtertainment, Sophomore EP

‘The Sound Of What Went Wrong’ Waxflower announce EP

Waxflower announce sophomore EP ‘The Sound Of What Went Wrong’ out the 29th April

Waxflower have just announced the highly-anticipated news that they will release their sophomore EP, The Sound Of What Went Wrong on 29th April, via Rude Records! The EP will feature previously released singles, pop-led Ringthe thumping Soakplus unheard tracks Two Thumbs, Misaligned Love (featuring Phoenix-based rising star, Sydney Sprague) and The Drama Scene, which is out today.

Spanning “five songs for the overthinker”, as described by frontman Tristan Higginson, The Sound Of What Went Wrong is “the EP a brain writes at 2am when it can’t sleep – picking apart every awkward moment and wrong turn, all while wondering what could have been.” Tristan’s signature heart-on-sleeve lyrics are woven through every track and are complemented by the band’s pop/rock sensibilities. Pre-order here.

With the help of producer Stevie Knight, a constant in the band’s musical journey, a more electronic sound has been lent to upbeat and brand new single, The Drama Scene. Following a radio premiere on Australia’s Triple J, Tristan reveals “The Drama Scene is a reflection of my social life at the time. There was just so much negativity swirling around, and I was contributing to that. I was generally unhappy, the song is me airing out some of the agitation I had with where my own actions were placing me. Listen here. 

Last year saw Waxflower mark the beginning of a compelling new era for the band, with single Soak alongside the official music video, which premiered on Clash Magazine. Soak, which has now surpassed 100k streams on Spotify alone, received its UK debut radio play on Dan P Carter’s Radio 1 Rock Show. It has also garnered solid support from Spotify where it was added to playlists including Pop Punk’s Not Dead (505k likes), the locker_ (314k likes) and Rock Out. (78k likes), and also Apple’s New In Rock and Amazon Music’s Punk Scene and Fresh Rock.