On March 30th, The Kinks will release specially mastered digital editions of 7 seminal albums from their 1964 debut ‘Kinks’ to the career defining 1970 opus that is ‘Lola Versus Powerman And The Moneygoround, Part 1’.

The albums have been newly Mastered for iTunes, and will be available in HD on all digital stores and streaming services, via BMG.

This essential series of releases by one of the world’s best ever bands is defined by the extraordinary catalogue of Ray Davies’ songs, driven by brother Dave Davies’ power pop guitar.

Ray Davies is delighted with the results and believes these mastered albums “bring out the original sound brilliantly”.

These releases include The Kinks’ first 5 albums:

Kinks (1964) featuring ‘You Really Got Me’ and ‘Stop Your Sobbing’
Kinda Kinks (1965) includes ‘Tired of Waiting for You’
The Kink Kontroversy (1965) is home to ‘Till the End of The Day’ and ‘Where Have All The Good Times Gone’
Face to Face (1966) has ‘Dandy’ and ‘Sunny Afternoon’
Something Else (1967) one of the Kinks finest albums includes: “David Watts’, ‘Death of A Clown’, ‘Waterloo Sunset’

The albums include some of the best songs ever written, and by the time the Kinks released ‘Lola Versus Powerman And The Moneygoround, Part 1’ in 1970, Ray Davies had established himself as one of the greatest songwriters of his and any generation. Highlights of this essential album include ‘Get Back In Line’, ‘This Time Tomorrow’ and ‘Lola’.

The following year Ray scored the 1971 film ‘Percy’, starring Hywel Bennett, Elke Sommer and Britt Ekland, which is the final album to be mastered in this new 7 strong series.

These classic albums have been newly mastered for iTunes (MFiT) and HD from the original tapes by internationally acclaimed mastering engineers Andrew Sandoval and Tim Young at Metropolis Studios, London. The recordings have been mastered for an optimal listening experience on digital formats, both download and streaming.

Write A Comment