Sofie Hagen, Comedy, TotalNtertainment, Leeds, Tour

Sofie Hagen Happy Fat book and Bubblewrap Tour

‘​Today’s stand up comedy fan kids are lucky to have her. She makes the world a less scary place’ – Evening Standard

Sofie Hagen is about to embark on a tour of her hit award-winning show Bubblewrap to selected venues across the UK, hot on the heels of her debut novel, Happy Fat, which is published on 2nd May.

This is the first time Bubblewrap has toured the UK, and follows her sell-out shows Dead Baby Frog and Shimmer ShatterBubblewrap won her the Edinburgh Fringe Best Newcomer Award in 2015, catapulting her onto the British comedy scene. Bubblewrap, a show about how she learned to love her body (interspersed with erotic Westlife fanfiction and stories about one-night-stands, a psych ward and car chases), is currently confirmed to play at 12 venues from 26 April to 9 June 2019.

Audiences will also have the chance to hear her read from her new book Happy Fat, a manifesto for happiness and fat liberation, followed by a Q&A with Sofie.

Unquestionably one of the most talked-about comics of the moment, Sofie just completed filming for her own Comedy Central series, Sofie’s Sex Stories, looking at the sex lives of fellow comedians. She’s also recently been seen on The Nightly Show (ITV) and Roast Battle (Comedy Central). She hosts the hugely successful Made of Human podcast, co-hosts the brand new live comedy podcast Secret Dinosaur Cult, and was one of the co-founders of The Guilty Feminist podcast.

Sofie Hagen said: “I’m very excited to take Bubblewrap and Happy Fat on tour. Bubblewrap is a stand-up show about how I first learned to love my body – Happy Fat is my first ever book and it’s about why it’s fucking okay to be fat and it’s where I’m at right now with fat positivity. The tour will be a mix of stand-up show, book reading and Q&A, a wonderfully balanced mix of funny, emotional, authentic and silly. Oh, and I’ll bring a bunch of books as well.”

An evening of varied delights from one of the most exciting talents of recent years. Book early.

2019 tour schedule

Friday 26 April                       Cambridge Junction  junction.co.uk  / 01223 511 511

Friday 10 May                         Coventry Warwick Arts Centre  warwickartscentre.co.uk / 024 7652 4524

Saturday 11 May                     Colchester Arts Centre  colchesterartscentre.com / 01206 500900

Friday 17 May                          Cardiff Sherman Theatre shermancymru.co.uk / 029 2064 6900

Sunday 19 May                       Salford The Lowry  thelowry.com / 0843 208 6000

Thursday 23 May                  Liverpool Epstein Theatre epsteinliverpool.co.uk / 0844 888 4411

Friday 24 May                        Newcastle Northern Stage  northernstage.co.uk / 0191 230 5151

Thursday 30 May                  Bristol Tobacco Factory  tobaccofactory.com / 0117 902 0344

Friday 31 May                        Birmingham Old Rep Theatre oldreptheatre.co.uk | 0121 359 9444

Saturday 1 June                    Leeds City Varieties  cityvarieties.co.uk / 0113 2430808

Friday 7 June                         Norwich Playhouse Theatre  norwichplayhouse.co.uk / 01603 598598

Sunday 9 June                      Exeter Phoenix Theatre  exeterphoenix.org.uk / 01392 667080

Saturday 15 June                  London Bloomsbury Theatre  thebloomsbury.com  / 020 3108 1000