Acclaimed singer, songwriter and performer, Colter Wall, will release his highly anticipated new album, ‘Songs of the Plains’, October 12th on Young Mary’s Record Co. via Thirty Tigers (pre-order).

Recorded at Nashville’s RCA Studio A with Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb, the album features eleven songs including “Plain to See Plainsman,” which is premiering today. Listen/share HERE.

In addition to seven original songs written by Wall, the album also includes versions of Billy Don Burns’ “Wild Dogs,” Wilf Carter’s “Calgary Round-Up” and two cowboy traditionals, “Night Herding Song” and “Tying Knots in the Devil’s Tail.” Each digital pre-order comes with an immediate download of “Plain to See Plainsman” as well as “Calgary Round-Up,” which was released earlier this month. Of the song, Rolling Stone praises, “Wall sounds about as jaunty as he’s ever sounded on the new track, which features a throwback swing rhythm and even a turn at yodeling from the baritone singer. His version is much lower than Carter’s original, but it makes for a gently plodding tribute…”

Of the album, Wall comments, “One thing I’ve noticed over the last few years, in the United States and playing in Europe, is that people all over the world really don’t know much about Canada at all…When you talk about Saskatchewan, people really have no idea. Part of it is because there are so few people there. It’s an empty place—it makes sense that people don’t know much about it. But that’s my home, so naturally I’m passionate about it. With this record, I really wanted people to look at our Western heritage and our culture.”

In addition to Wall (vocals, acoustic guitar), the album also features Cobb (acoustic guitar), Lloyd Green (pedal steel), Chris Powell (drums, spoons), Jason Simpson (bass), Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Blake Berglund (vocals) and Corb Lund (vocals).

The Saskatchewan native will tour the US and Canada extensively this autumn in celebration of the release as well as playing headline shows at London Scala and Manchester Gorilla in August. See below for dates including festivals.

The release of ‘Songs of the Plains’ follows a breakthrough year for the Canadian artist, which saw him play a sold out Great Escape Festival show and sold out shows at Servants Jazz Quarters and The Lexington, as well as releasing his critically acclaimed self-titled-debut (#5 on the Rough Trade Best of year). With tips from everybody from The Times, Sunday Times Culture, Rolling Stone, The Sun and not to mention music legends like Rick Rubin and Steve Earle, Colter Wall is one not to be missed.

‘Songs Of The Plains’ Track List:

1.    “Plain to See Plainsman” (written by Colter Wall)

2.    “Saskatchewan In 1881” (written by Colter Wall)

3.    “John Beyers (Camaro Song)” (written by Colter Wall)

4.    “Wild Dogs” (written by Billy Don Burns)

5.    “Calgary Round-Up” (written by Wilf Carter)

6.    “Night Herding Song” (Cowboy Traditional)

7.    “Wild Bill Hickok” (written by Colter Wall)

8.    “The Trains are Gone” (written by Colter Wall)

9.    “Thinkin’ on a Woman” (written by Colter Wall)

10. “Manitoba Man” (written by Colter Wall)

11. “Tying Knots in the Devil’s Tail” (Cowboy Traditional)

Colter Wall Live Dates:


Weds 29th LONDON, Scala

Thurs 30th MANCHESTER, Gorilla


Sat 1st SALISBURY, End Of The Road Festival

Sun 2nd STRADBALLY, IE, Electric Picnic

Write A Comment