8x GRAMMY® Award-nominated rock band Death Cab for Cutie has announced Asphalt Meadows (Acoustic), a new, stripped-down take on their critically acclaimed 10th studio album ‘Asphalt Meadows,’ originally released this past September via Atlantic Records. Co-produced by Andy Park (Pedro the Lion, Joseph, Noah Gunderson) and Death Cab for Cutie, the 12-track acoustic LP is due out March 10th (pre-save here).

Alongside the announcement, the band has released the first pair of tracks off the forthcoming album: a rework of standout album track “Pepper” as well as a moving cover of “The Plan” (listen here) – released in tribute to the late Mimi Parker, their close friend and drummer for the iconic band Low.

Of the cover, lead vocalist and guitarist Ben Gibbard shares:

“I first saw Low in 1994 opening for Sunny Day Real Estate at the OK Hotel in Seattle. Since then, they’ve been one of the most influential and important bands of my life. It was the fulfilment of my teenage self’s indie rock dream when our bands became friends while on tour together in 2012. 

We were incredibly saddened by Mimi’s passing this past November. She was an incredible artist and an even better human being.  

We believe the best way to remember the musicians we lose is to play their songs. ‘The Plan’ has always been one of our favourite Low songs and is presented here in tribute to Mimi.”


  1. I Don’t Know How I Survive (Acoustic)
  2. Roman Candles (Acoustic)
  3. Asphalt Meadows (Acoustic)
  4. Rand McNally (Acoustic)
  5. Here to Forever (Acoustic)
  6. Foxglove Through The Clearcut (Acoustic)
  7. Pepper (Acoustic)
  8. I Miss Strangers (Acoustic)
  9. Wheat Like Waves (Acoustic)
  10. Fragments From the Decade (Acoustic)
  11. I’ll Never Give Up On You (Acoustic)
  12. The Plan

Comments are closed.