Flawes, Music News, New Single, Album News, TotalNtertainment

Flawes – ‘One Step Back Two steps Forward’

Flawes’ modern take on timeless pop put them on the map from the very beginning, resulting in a famous fan in the shape of Billie Eilish, sessions with Finneas, repeated support from Radio 1 and performances at Reading and Leeds. Just as they were set to go stellar the world was thrown into turmoil, but the trio continued to engage fans keeping their debut album‘Highlights’ in the spotlight during lockdown, and then made the most of the downtime by releasing their ‘Reverie’ EP early in 2021.

Flawes are now back – better than before. Their dogged determination is rewarded as they announce the June 9th release of their fittingly-titled new album ‘One Step Back, Two Steps Forward’ alongside brand new single ‘Don’t Blame Me’. After experiencing a disruptive few years, Flawes are now perfectly primed to fulfil their near limitless potential. Listen to ‘Don’t Blame Me’ HERE. Watch the lyric video from 5pm GMT tonight HERE.

‘One Step Back, Two Steps Forward’ is a driving-with-the-top-down record, their slick, uplifting sound powered by propulsive rhythms, yearning guitars and choruses that soar. Informed by an attitude that every moment matters, it’s a record which wastes no time in unveiling its direct yet nuanced pop charms. Not a single song lingers until the four-minute mark, creating a breathless momentum that feels like an instant greatest hits collection. Entirely written or co-written by Flawes, the album also features contributions from  Mike Crossey (The 1975, Wolf Alice, Foals), Simon Oscroft (Olivia Rodrigo, Portugal. The Man), Jonathan Gilmore (Rina Sawayama, Twenty One Pilots) and Thom Powers (The Naked and Famous).

Vocalist Josh ‘JC’ Carruthers says, “One of the best parts of making this record was doing sessions with people who’ve lived and are living the exact same things we’ve been through. I loved it. It’s important to stress, these songs wouldn’t have been possible without the one step back. It makes it that little bit sweeter after the struggle.”

After recently releasing ‘Is It Any Wonder’, Flawes today share the album’s new single ‘Don’t Blame Me’. While it captures heartbreak through the prism of driving, synth-focused alt-pop big on both melody and passion, it’s also a song which strikes to the heart of the album’s quest to make a new brand-new start. In this case, a brighter future isn’t going to be held back by any lingering thoughts of regret. They wrote the song with Sam Backoff of Avenue Beat, whose TikTok video ‘Lowkey F*** 2020’ went viral and received plaudits from Rolling Stone and Justin Bieber.