One of the UK’s most beloved British bands Madness have today unveiled brand new single ‘Baby Burglar’. Listen here. The song is the second offering from their 13th full length album Theatre Of the Absurd Presents C’Est La Vie out 17th November.

The latest track once again highlights the band’s faultless ability to create ineffably catchy pop music, this time with an underlying helping of majestic gloom. A theme that’s ever present on the upcoming LP. Baby Burglar recites Lee Thomson’s true-life tale of being burgled, told through Madness’ signature witty lens. The bossa nova beat of a vintage Yamaha organ helps to enliven the tale, as Suggs sings “I once trod in your creeping footsteps”. Lee has said the song’s take on the home invaders is more sympathetic, recognising his own youthful straying from the straight and narrow.

Talking about Baby Burglar, Madness said “The story behind Baby Burglar is actually quite a funny one…it’s about Lee finding a midnight meddler loose in his house and how it reminded him of his younger self and all the shenanigans we used to get up to when we were whippersnappers. Not long now until you can hear the whole of our new album Theatre of the Absurd presents C’est La Vie”

The release of Baby Burglar comes hot on the heels of the success of the band’s current single ‘C’Est La Vie’. Featured as the ‘Record of the Week’ on BBC Radio 2, the song has an eerie space-ska feel and reflects on the perils of everyday life. Listen here. ‘C’est La Vie’ was introduced to the world by Helen Mirren who recorded a self tape performing her very own interpretation of the song, before ever hearing it.

Recently, Madness announced the news of their 13th full length album Theatre Of the Absurd Presents C’Est La Vie. Seven years after the release of their last record, the long awaited album will be released on the 17th November via BMG. Pre order here.

The governing principle behind Theatre Of the Absurd Presents C’Est La Vie, is: “let Madness be Madness”. The result is an album of typically timeless brilliance that also reflects the wonky years of its creation, these 14 songs representing the cream of the bumper crop of tunes the group cooked up, whittled down this punchy, focused set. There are moments of ineffably catchy pop excellence (drummer Daniel ‘Woody’ Woodgate’s beguiling, bittersweet carousel ‘Round We Go’, Chrissy-Boy’s anarchic anthem to perhaps-justified paranoia, ‘Run For Your Life’), while the album is bookended by two of Suggs’ finest compositions.

The album is available on double vinyl and CD with a limited crystal clear vinyl sold through HMV and indie stores – Preorder here.

Comments are closed.