Mallory Knox have released their first single as a four-piece, following the news that vocalist Mikey Chapman had departed the band. ‘Black Holes’ sees bassist Sam Douglas step up to vocal duties. He says in relation to ‘Black Holes’: “ I think it shows a completely different side to my voice. In taking on lead vocals, that was something I wanted to be able to show from the get go. It’s a song we’ve played at rehearsal for a while and we’re all really excited about integrating it into the set.

Continuing to speak on the lyrics, Douglas says “It’s all too easy in this day and age to post every single thought we have online, and at times too much can be said. Everybody seems to be so quick to have an opinion on something, which they often know nothing about, and I struggle to defend how much negativity is spouted online. We really wanted to make sure that emotion was captured in the recording and our producer Adrian Bushby really brought out the bare bones of the song in the best way. It’s a conscious effort to go back to basics. We really want the listener to be able to hear every part being played and I feel we’ve achieved that.”

‘Black Holes’ received its first airplay on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 Show last night and Mallory Knox are all set to take their revamped line-up on the road for a clutch of headline dates in April, as well as festival appearances at Selby Pop Punk Pile-Up and Camden Rocks.



16 Brighton The Haunt*

17 Cardiff The Globe*

18 Exeter Cavern*

20 Stoke Sugarmill*

22 Glasgow King Tut’s*

23 Manchester Rebellion*

24 Birmingham Mama Roux’s*

26 Nottingham Bodega*

28 Selby Pop Punk Pile-Up Festival+


05 Teddy Rocks Festival+

06 Oxford O2 Academy 2*


02 Camden Rocks+


26-29 Y Not Festival

28 Fat Lip Festival+


Sam Douglas – Vocals / Bass // Joe Savins – Guitar // Dave Rawling – Drums // James Gillett – Guitar


Official Site // Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Write A Comment