Central Virginia’s band of brothers SONS OF BILL have announced the release of their new album ‘Oh God Ma’am’ on 29 June on Loose. 

The first single taken from the album, ‘Believer/Pretender’ is a “sort of a meditation on continuing to make music in adult life; especially in a superficial cultural and economic climate that continues to devalue the arts”. Lead singer James continues: “There is this Chinese finger trap you can get yourself into in adult life where you’re never quite sure which part of you is still genuine and which part of you has learned to fake it– which part of you plays music just for the love of it, and which part of you just desperately wants to be loved. Especially in an industry town like Nashville where it feels like posturing is half of being an artist.” 

‘Oh God Ma’am’, the latest LP from is the band’s most coherent artistic statement to date– subtle, risky, and sonically ambitious.  Recorded both in Seattle with west coast indie legend Phil Ek (Shins, Fleet Foxes) and in Nashville with Sean Sullivan (Sturgill Simpson) and mixed by Peter Katis (The National, Interpol) the album shows the Wilson brothers moving beyond the galvanic americana-rock comfort zone of previous efforts, for a more elegant and restrained sound– a darker, and more complexly layered rock record that manages to be the band’s most emotionally intimate and sonically expansive.  Insistent, dancey rhythms and dreamy, hook-filled, pyrotechnics abound, creating a deceptively anthemic mood around songs that are in and of themselves intensely introverted.

‘Oh God Ma’am’ is a coming-of-age record for an over-stimulated age– equal parts post-adolescent anxiety and old-soul humility– literate, gorgeous, and darkly contemplative.


13 Aug – BRIGHTON The Hope (UK)

14 Aug – LONDON Omeara (UK)

15 Aug – BRISTOL Tunnels (UK)

16 Aug – LEEDS Brudenell (UK)

17 Aug – GLASGOW Broadcast (UK)

18 Aug – MANCHESTER Soup Kitchen (UK)

19 Aug – NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms (UK)

21 Aug – COLOGNE Blue Shell (DE)

22 Aug – MUNICH Milia Club (DE)

23 Aug – BERLIN Musik & Frieden (DE)

24 Aug – HAMBURG Stage Club (DE)


PRE-ORDER ‘OH GOD MA’AM’ HERE: http://smarturl.it/sonsofbill


Write A Comment