A special vinyl reissue of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers’ acclaimed 2010 album, ‘Mojo’, will be released on October 20th, and is now available to pre-order here. Highly requested by fans, the reissue will be available as a limited edition translucent ruby red double-vinyl pressing, as well as in immersive Dolby Atmos and Spatial formats.

In 2010, Tom Petty said, “With this album, I want to show other people what I hear with the band. ‘Mojo’ is where the band lives when it’s playing for itself.”

Recorded live in the band’s legendary rehearsal space, The Clubhouse in Los Angeles, ‘Mojo’ was released in June 2010 and debuted at #2 on the Billboard Top 200 chart. It was the twelfth studio album from Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, showcasing the band’s melodic range: from rock ‘n’ roll, to country, to electric and acoustic blues, to classic moody ballads. Since its release, the album has grown in stature and popularity, showing an enduring appeal with the band’s most ardent fans.

The album features the hit ‘I Should Have Known It’, a driving rock track written by Petty with lead guitarist Mike Campbell that became a live favourite and would appear regularly in the Heartbreakers’ setlists. Other highlights include fan favourites ‘Good Enough’, the blues-y first album single, ‘First Flash of Freedom’ and ‘Something Good Coming’, a classic Petty composition that was performed by Benmont Tench and Campbell at The Clubhouse as part of the online virtual celebration for Petty’s 70th birthday in 2020. Additionally, ‘Little Girl Blues’, originally an iTunes exclusive, will be available on all streaming platforms for the first time.

The announcement comes ahead of the second inaugural Tom Petty Day, celebrated with The University of Florida Athletic Association on September 23rd, in conjunction with the Gators football game against the Charlotte 49ers, where 90,000+ fans will once again sing along to Petty’s ‘I Won’t Back Down’, one of the favourite traditions amongst Florida fans.

Comments are closed.