Donovan Woods, Without People, New Album, TotalNtertainment

‘Without People’ the new album from Donovan Woods

“Donovan Woods is no stranger to making music that tugs at the heart-strings.” – The FADER

Donovan Woods’ new album, Without People, is alive with intimacy and connection at a surreal time when we’re all in desperate need of both. The album is available today everywhere. LISTEN HERE.

Today, Woods also shares a dance interpretation of the album’s “We Used To” conceived and performed by Ariana and the Rose. The video is the most recent addition to the Donovan Woods With People Project which sees the songwriter supporting independent creators and bridging art and music culture during the pandemic. WATCH AND SHARE “WE USED TO” HERE. All videos can be viewed HERE.

From the snippets of warm chatter and lush strings on the title track to the gossamer layers of harmonies on “Seeing Other People”, the aching loneliness of “Grew Apart”, the tenderness of love’s redeeming grace on the evocative Katie Pruitt duet “She Waits For Me To Come Back Down”, Woods captures sentiments about wanting to be alone – until you’re suddenly lonely – and why we so often chase something we’re never going to get. Each song is a reminder that relationships are what bind us, and what matters most is how we treat one another and whether we’re truly listening and trying to understand experiences distinct from our own.

Woods recruited co-writers Tucker Beathard, Ashley Monroe, Barenaked Ladies’ Ed Robertson, Thomas Finchum and Katie Pruitt to create a lyrically-forward collection of songs bound by themes of the human condition. Long-time collaborator and producer, James Bunton and vocal producer Todd Clark (Dua Lipa, Noah Kahan, Phillip Phillips) round off the musically diverse creative team behind the album.

‘Without People’ tracklist:
1. “Without People”
2. “The Last Time I Saw You”
3. “Seeing Other People”
4. “We Used To” (
5. “She Waits For Me To Come Back Down feat. Katie Pruitt”
6. “Clean Slate”
7. “Man Made Lake”
8. “Interlude”
9. “Lonely People feat. Rhys Lewis”
10. “Grew Apart”
11. “Whole Way Home”
12. “High Season”
13. “God Forbid”
14. “Whatever Keeps You Going”