The Association of Independent Music (AIM) has revealed the winners of the Innovator and Outstanding Contribution to Music Awards alongside performers for the upcoming ceremony.

Soulwax will be taking home the legendary ‘Outstanding Contribution to Music award in association with Merlin’ in recognition of their decades-spanning work and influence. Initially formed by brothers Stephen and David Dewaele in 1995, Soulwax have consistently pushed the boundaries of music into new and innovative territory. As well as a band, they are DJs (2manydjs), a record label (DEEWEE) and the sound system Despacio, a joint project with James Murphy from LCD Soundsystem.

The duo gained notoriety for both official and unofficial remixes of tracks by the likes of Daft Punk, Robbie Williams, Gorillaz and The Rolling Stones, with recent credits including Wet Leg and Charlotte Adigéry. 2manydjs, meanwhile, is credited with taking club-ready remixes to dance floors globally. With their 2002 2manydjs album ‘As Heard on Radio Soulwax Pt 2’ they created a new remixing style that set the template for imitators ever since.

As an accolade that recognises the visionaries who drive independent music, the ‘Innovator Award in association with Amazon Music’ is given to Speedy Wunderground co-founder and legendary producer Dan Carey. A driving force behind some of the most impactful debuts in recent years, Carey’s production chops have been demonstrated on releases from the likes of Fontaines DC, Squid, Kae Tempest and Kylie Minogue. With four Grammy nominations under his belt, Carey’s signature style and his continued dedication to his label has had undeniable influence across the independent music community.

Concluding the nominee list, this year’s ‘Independent Champion in association with Downtown’ contenders see broadcaster and BBC Radio 1 DJ Jaguar Bingham joined by buzzing independent record shop Resident Music and home for creative new music Cafe OTO.

As 2023 marks 50 years of Hip Hop, the evening’s ceremony will celebrate this landmark occasion, supported by BBC 1Xtra.The show will feature a unique dedication to the genre, highlighting both its influence in the UK’s independent Hip Hop community and lasting impact on the emergence of various musical genres.

Finally, as anticipation reaches a peak for the Awards (to be held 26 September at Camden’s Roundhouse), AIM also announce the first exclusive and intimate live performances taking place across the ceremony.

Taking to the iconic stage, the evening will play host to one of the most exciting crossover acts in the underground music scene; P Money, a veteran grime MC and Whiney, a DJ on the rise signed to ‘Best Independent Label’ nominee, Hospital Records. With a string of projects behind them, the revered duo have received acclaim for their blend of grime and drum & bass. Fresh off the back of their sixth collaborative single ‘Junkyard’ ft Ocean Wisdom, the pair are currently touring the UK.

Also tipped to appear at the ceremony, British-Lebanese rapper/producer and ‘One To Watch in association with BBC Music Introducing’ nominee Laughta will bring her distinctive fusion of cultural influences to the stage.

Newly announced AIM winners and nominees

Innovator Award in association with Amazon Music
Dan Carey

Outstanding Contribution to Music in association with Merlin
Soulwax / 2manydjs

Independent Champion in association with Downtown
Jaguar Bingham
Resident Music
Cafe OTO

Comments are closed.