Film Noir, Music News, New Single, Bad Omens, TotalNtertainment

Film Noir release new single ‘Bad Omens’

Film Noir unveil their melodic new single “Bad Omens”,

Following the release of their singles “Narcisse” and “Erotica”, French alt-rock band Film Noir unveil their melodic new single “Bad Omens”, the third track taken from the band’s debut album “PALPITANT” out 10th June.

Taking a detour from the heavier garage rock sounds of their previous singles, “Bad Omens” is a mellow and melodic English language track with a driving bassline and whirring percussion. Drawing on the forthcoming album’s overall theme of cinematic imagery, the track is an escape into a fantasy, detailing a life of compulsion and a loss of control.

Film Noir say of the track:  “Bad Omens is about the hustle and hassle of a man who lives his life like a compulsive gambler. « Is it time to leave the game? Lost youth can’t be reclaimed.”

It is an exciting time for Film Noir at the moment, with their debut album ‘PALPITANT’ being released on 10th June and a support slot with Fontaines D.C at their show at Le Transbordeur in Lyon, France on 6th June.

After the release of their debut EP ‘Vertiges Men of Glory’ in 2019 which saw the band tour Europe and the US, the band released their follow up EP ‘Tendrement’ in 2020. Praised for their thespian lyricism and visceral rock, the band enjoyed critical acclaim from tastemaker outlets such as NME, AnOther Magazine, BBC 6 Music, DIY and Les Inrocks .

Film Noir’s debut album ‘PALPITANT’, (literally meaning ‘Palpitating’, a french proverb used to describe a thrilling sensation) was recorded in South London during 10 days of quarantine living. Produced by Jamie Neville and Ben Romans-Hopcraft, as well as contributions from the likes of Fontaines D.C.’s Carlos O’Connell,  Orla Carey, Dan Carey’s 17 year old prodigy daughter and Daft Punk collaborator Antoine ‘Chab’ Chabert, it is the album of a band that has been on stages around the world for three years, with months spent shaping this disc rehearsal after rehearsal before recording it in one live take.

Film Noir are comprised of siblings Joséphine and Alexandre de la Baume (vocals/guitar), Martin Rocchia (guitar) and Victor Le Dauphin (bass). A compilation of short stories for the fantasy in all of us, each of their songs draw on cinematic imagery and a wealth of characters experiencing a situation of crisis; exploring and celebrating their grand gesture within it. With inspirations ranging from Gogol’s surreal short stories to the violence and passion of Greek mythological figures, Film Noir takes punk to fictional heights with darkly tales that need to be heard.