AIM Independent Music Awards 2019, London, TotalNtertainment, Music

IDLES & Jade Bird Lead AIM Independent Music Awards Nominations

Blondie’s Debbie Harry will be taking home the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award in recognition of an iconic career that has spanned five decades, while fast-rising electro-pop star Georgia will be performing as part of the line up for the ceremony’s first-ever live show.

Following the biggest-ever influx of nominations, the AIM Independent Music Awards has unveiled this year’s shortlist, with post-punk rockers IDLES and blues-pop singer-songwriter Jade Bird leading the way with four and three nominations respectively. Meanwhile, FKA Twigs, Christine and the Queens, Little Simz, Dave, Maribou State, Georgia and Fontaines D.C. are in the running for two gongs each.

The first-ever nominees for “One To Watch” have also been announced, a brand new category for 2019. In association with BBC Music Introducing, which supports unsigned, undiscovered and under-the-radar music across the UK, “One to Watch” champions fast-rising grassroots independent artists. Nominees include Arlo Parks, Barney Artist, Georgia, KOKOROKO and Larkins. Find out more about this year’s exciting shortlist and expert panel of judges below.

Today also sees the announcement of the coveted Outstanding Contribution to Music award winner — Blondie frontwoman Debbie Harry — who will pick up her award at The Roundhouse-based ceremony on 3 September. Famed for her sharp lyrics and inimitable style, Harry emerged from the ‘70s New York downtown music scene, performing with Blondie alongside everyone from the Ramones, Television, Talking Heads, Iggy Pop and David Bowie.  She has written and performed songs that defined an age, selling over 40 million albums, right the way to 2017’s acclaimed Blondie album ‘Pollinator’. With all the grit, grime and glory recounted in intimate detail in her forthcoming memoir ‘FACE IT’, released in October, this is the perfect time to celebrate a true one-off, independent artist.

Blondie emerged from a scene that was truly independent and we have never lost that ethos,” says Debbie Harry, “We always fought for the freedom to create what we wanted, without interference. It is an honour to receive this award from a community that helps make that happen every day for artists.”

The AIM Independent Music Awards has also announced breakthrough electro-pop star Georgia for its first-ever live show. Attracting major attention after the release of her 2015 self-titled debut, Georgia will be fresh from her spell-binding Glastonbury performance, where she delivered an animated performance across the Park stage filled with 80s-club energy and pop nostalgia.

To top this all off, voting is now also open for “Best Live Act”, in association with Songkick. The award, which will be decided by the public vote, pays tribute to the most exhilarating live shows delivered by independent artists from across the world, with previous winners including Erasure, Counterfeit and Babymetal. Over 12,000 votes have been received so far, responses must be made by 31 July here.

With less than two months to go until the awards show, tickets to the ceremony and live show are running out fast. Gold tables are now sold out, with only a limited number of tables remaining.

AIM Independent Music Awards Shortlist
UK Independent Breakthrough (in association with YouTube Music)

  • Black Midi
  • Ezra Collective
  • Gerry Cinnamon
  • Jade Bird

International Breakthrough

  • Afro B
  • Jade Bird
  • Maribou State
  • Nilüfer Yanya

Best Independent Track (in association with Facebook)

  • Dave, “Funky Friday (ft. Fredo)”
  • FKA Twigs, “Cellophane”
  • Fontaines D.C., “Boys In The Better Land”
  • Georgia, “About Work The Dancefloor”
  • JARV IS, “Must I Evolve”
  • Jai Paul, “Do You Love Her Now”
  • Holly Herndon, “Eternal”
  • Little Simz, “Selfish (ft. Celo Sol)”
  • Sharon Van Etten, “Seventeen”
  • Four Tet, “Teenage Birdsong”

Best Independent Album (in association with Spotify)

  • Better Oblivion Community Center, “Better Oblivion Community Center”
  • Christine And The Queens, “Chris”
  • Dave, “Psychodrama”
  • Fontaines D.C., “Dogrel”
  • Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, “End of Suffering”
  • Jade Bird, “Jade Bird”
  • Jordan Rakei, “Origin”
  • Little Simz, “GREY Area”
  • Snapped Ankles, “Stunning Luxury”
  • Swindle, “No More Normal”

Best [Difficult] Second Album

  • Erland Cooper, “Sule Skerry”
  • IDLES, “Joy as an Act of Resistance.”
  • Julia Jacklin, “Crushing”
  • Maribou State, “Kingdoms In Colour”
  • SOAK, “Grim Town”

One To Watch (in association with BBC Music Introducing)

  • Arlo Parks
  • Barney Artist
  • Georgia
  • Larkins

Best Small Label

  • Fuzz Club Records
  • Killing Moon
  • Local Action
  • Scruff of the Neck
  • Speedy Wunderground

Best Creative Packaging (in association with MCPS)

  • Various Artists, Confessin’ The Blues compilation
  • Murlo, “Dolos”
  • IDLES, “Joy as an Act of Resistance”
  • Various Artists, Sick Music 2019 compilation
  • Keith Richards, “Talk Is Cheap”

Best Independent Video (in association with Vevo)

  • Christine and the Queens, “5 Dollars”
  • Hot Chip, “Hungry Child”
  • John Grant, “He’s Got His Mother’s Hips”
  • Caleb Steph, “Black Boy”
  • FKA Twigs, “Cellophane”

Best Independent Label (in association with [PIAS])

  • Brownswood Recordings
  • Domino
  • Nuclear Blast
  • Partisan Records
  • Rough Trade

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

  • AJ Tracey
  • Cosmo Sheldrake
  • Freya Ridings
  • Guru Randhawa
  • Jorja Smith