The Lottery Winners have released the new single and video for their collaboration with fellow Mancunion Shaun Ryder, ‘Money’, taken from their upcoming album ‘Anxiety Replacement Therapy’ out 28th April.

The track touches upon one of the anxieties the album’s title refers to, and features Shaun’s freewheeling brilliance on a song that has a hint of Mondays bounce to it (including the reprising of his iconic “call the cops!”), yet remains an incisive austerity anthem.

The video features Shaun in a lord of the manor role he was born to play, employing the band as removal specialists.

Thom says: “Firstly, SHAUN RYDER is on our single. How mental is that? Being in the studio with him was a very strange and wonderful experience. He gave me a conker that he had in his pocket for some reason. I love him. He’s a true Manchester music legend and truly is a genius. 

Filming the video was bananas as well. We filmed it where they shot Peaky Blinders. At one point I had to drive a Luton van past a Happy Monday into Tommy Shelby’s driveway. I’ve got a weird life.

The song is a banger. It’s about being skint, and I’m sure a lot of people can relate to that at the moment, while it costs both an arm and a leg just to heat your house.”

Guitarist Rob Lally adds: “Thom (Rylance, singer / guitarist) said: ‘We need Shaun to say something like ‘Call the cops.’ Five minutes later, Shaun said: ‘They’ve stole my money, call the cops.’ We all went: ‘Yeeees! He’s said the thing! We’re putting that in.’ Shaun said that line so cheekily, it was brilliant.”

‘Anxiety Replacement Therapy’ also features Boy George and recent touring mate Frank Turner, and Thom recently spoke to NME about how these collaborations came about.  The band also unveiled the album with an inventive nostalgia-soaked Art Attack parody.

The band have also announced a recent tour, as well as festival dates throughout the summer including Neighborhood Weekender in Manchester in May. Full dates and tickets are available from

‘Anxiety Replacement Therapy’ is the follow-up to 2021’s ‘Something To Leave The House For’ which placed at No.11 in the Album Charts, and saw the band garner support across the board at Radio 1, Radio 2, 6 Music, Radio X, Virgin, XS and Amazing Radio.

2022 saw the band take their live reputation Stateside for sold out shows across the pond as well as in the UK, along with main stage festival slots, all climaxing with a homecoming Christmas at Manchester Albert Hall, with 1,800 tickets selling out in just 10 hours. ‘Anxiety Replacement Therapy’ is certain to bring more people into The Lottery Winners’ welcoming embrace.

2023 Tour Dates:

Tour Dates:

4 April             Sheffield Leadmill
9 April             Pasapop Festival (Schijndel, Netherlands)
10 April           Amsterdam Paradiso
12 April           Liverpool O2 Academy 2
14 April           Oxford Bullingdon
15 April           Cardiff Clwb Ifor Bach
16 April           Hertford Corn Exchange
18 April           Birmingham Mama Roux
19 April           Glasgow Room 2
20 April           Leeds Brudenell
21 April           Middlesborough Empire
22 April           Warrington Parr Hall
23 April           Nottingham Rescue Rooms
25 April           Exeter Phoenix
26 April           Bristol Thekla
27 April           Brighton Patterns
28 April           Southampton Engine Rooms
29 April           London Lafayette
2 May              Stoke Sugarmill
28 May           Neighbourhood Festival

Comments are closed.