Michael Palin, Erebus, Talk, Book, Theatre, Jo Forrest, Graham Finney, Review, TotalNtertainment

Michael Palin announces 2019 UK Live Tour

Michael Palin to return to the stage with a brand new show for the paperback release of his latest book: Erebus, The Story of a Ship

To celebrate the paperback publication of Erebus: The Story of A Ship,  Monty Python star and much-loved television globe-trotter Michael Palin announces a brand new one-man stage show. It will take him to 12 venues around the UK, beginning in Bournemouth on 7th June and ending in Bath on 7th July.

In the first part of the show, Palin brings to life the thrilling story of HMS Erebus, the tough little ship that took on the Antarctic and the Arctic in the 1840s, and which was the subject of his latest bestselling book. His richly illustrated talk conveys the triumph and tragedy of the ship’s short and doomed life, and what it was about it that made him so keen to tell its story.

In the second half, Michael tells his own life story, including how his three favourite subjects at school (Geography, History and Comedy) have shaped his life, from ‘Monty Python’ to ‘Ripping Yarns’ and the many television travel series that have taken him all around the world, from the North Pole to North Korea.

With previously unseen footage and previously untold stories, Michael shows how comedy and adventure have been natural bedfellows during a rich and diverse career.

The tour will be supported by local bookshops and signed copies of his books will be available to buy. Erebus: the Story of a Ship will be published by Arrow in paperback on 30th May, price£8.99

Date Town/City

Friday 7 June Bournemouth: Pavilion

Saturday 8 June Basingstoke: Anvil

Sunday 9 June Cambridge: Corn Exchange

Thursday 20 June Chesterfield: Winding Wheel

Friday 21 June Milton Keynes: Theatre

Saturday 22 June London: Cadogan Hall

Thursday 27 June Bradford: Alhambra

Friday 28 June Salford: Lowry – Lyric

Thursday 4 July Salisbury: City Hall

Friday 5 July Reading: Hexagon

Saturday 6 July Portsmouth: Southsea Kings

Sunday 7 July Bath: Theatre Royal