Shaparak Khorsandi, Comedy News, Tour News, TotalNtertainment, It Was The 90s

Shaparak Khorsandi: IT WAS THE 90s! Tour

Celebrated stand-up Shaparak Khorsandi is set to take to the stage for a brand new 27-date tour

Celebrated stand-up Shaparak Khorsandi is set to take to the stage for a brand new 27-date tour beginning this autumn and running right through to May 2022.

In her new show, entitled IT WAS THE 90S!, Shaparak tackles the equally celebrated and maligned 1990s. For Shaparak this was the decade of her twenties, and ‘ladette’ culture ruled the skool. The decade of relative peace and prosperity when there was nothing to be done but party. With a sense that anything was possible, Shaparak found herself flying about London with hope in her heart, a tenner in her pocket and spare knickers in her handbag. Regularly matching the boys pint-for-pint and frequently waking up in parts of London she’d never heard of.

With hindsight, though, the way people behaved back then – whilst it felt like liberation – looks like the ultimate in self harm. In those days, ‘mindfulness’ was making sure you had enough money for the night bus and ‘self-care’ was putting your flat shoes in a handbag.

This is a show about how we 90s kids are looking to young people to learn how to take care of ourselves, because if you survived the car crash of being a 90s kid, then surely Things Can Only Get Better.

Shaparak established herself as one of the country’s finest comedians in 2006 with her sell out Edinburgh show, Asylum Speaker. This led to the publication of her childhood memoirs, “A Beginner’s Guide To Acting English“, her best-selling literary debut.

 

Tour dates:

21st Jan 2022    Otley                 Otley Courthouse                        01943 467216     otleycourthouse.org.uk

22nd Jan 2022    Selby                Selby Town Hall              01757 708449     selbytownhall.co.uk

23rd Jan 2022    Newcastle          The Stand                      0191 232 0707                thestand.co.uk/newcastle/

28th Jan 2022    Taunton             The Brewhouse Theatre & Arts Centre    01823 283244     thebrewhouse.net

29th Jan 2022    Leicester                       The Y Theatre                 0116 255 7066                leicesterymca.co.uk/theatre/

2nd Feb 2022     Milton Keynes     The Stables                    01908 280800     stables.org

3rd Feb 2022      Kendal               Brewery Arts                  01539 725133     breweryarts.co.uk

4th Feb 2022      Halifax               Square Chapel                01422 349422    squarechapel.co.uk/

10th Feb 2022    London              artsdepot                                   020 8369 5454    artsdepot.co.uk

11th Feb 2022    Crawley             The Hawth                      01293 553636    parkwoodtheatres.co.uk/The-Hawth

12th Feb 2022    Southampton      The Berry Theatre                       023 8065 2333    theberrytheatre.co.uk

19th Feb 2022    Maidenhead        Norden Farm Centre for the Arts         01628 788997    norden.farm/

20th Feb 2022    Birmingham        The Old Rep                   0121 359 9444                oldreptheatre.co.uk/

24th Feb 2022    Lincoln              New Theatre Royal                      01522 519999     newtheatreroyallincoln.co.uk

25th Feb 2022    Hexham             Queen’s Hall Arts Centre  01434 652477     queenshall.co.uk

26th Feb2022     Barnard Castle    The Witham                    01833 631107    thewitham.org.uk/

5th March 2022   Folkestone         Quarterhouse                 01303 760750                 creativefolkestone.org.uk/folkestone-quarterhouse

6th March 2022   Colchester         Arts Centre                    01206 500900    colchesterartscentre.com/

18th March 2022 Winchester         Theatre Royal                 01962 840440     theatreroyalwinchester.co.uk

20th March 2022 Bath                  Komedia                        01225 489070    komedia.co.uk/bath/

16th April 2022   Norwich             Theatre Playhouse                      01603 630 000    norwichtheatre.org

29th April 2022   Andover             The Lights                      01264 368368    thelights.org.uk/

30th April 2022         Kettering                   Kettering Arts Centre              01536 513858          ketteringartscentre.com

5th May 2022           Belfast                      The Black Box (Out to Lunch Fest)  028 9024 4400         blackfoxbelfast.com

1314th May 2022 Oxford              Arts at the Old Fire Station          01865 263990     oldfirestation.org.uk

20th May 2022           Barnsley                  The Civic                                 01226 327000          barnsleycivic.co.uk

17th June   2022        Stamford                 Corn Exchange                            028 9024 4400         stamfordcornexchange.co.uk

18th June 2022          Diss                         The Corn Hall                          01379 652241          www.thecornhall.co.uk

24th June  2022         New Milton              Forest Arts Centre                    01425 619983         forest-arts.co.uk

8th July  2022            Reading                   South Street Arts Centre         0118 9606060         whatsonreading.com/venues/south-street/

9th July 2022             Aldershot                 West End Centre                     01252 408040         www.westendcentre.co.uk

15th July 2022           Fareham                  Ashcroft Arts                           01329 223100         www.ashcroft.org.uk