Everything But The Girl, Music News, new Single, New Album, TotalNtertainment

Everything But The Girl reveal new track

Everything But The Girl’s new track Caution To The Wind is out now and the new album Fuse is out on 21 April.

Everything But The Girl have today revealed their new track Caution To The Wind and its accompanying lyric video. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming album Fuse out 21 April and is the follow up to recent single Nothing Left To Lose which has seen fantastic support across press, with NME calling it ‘a massive dance single’, radio (A-list rotation at BBC Radio 6 Music) and editorial playlists (New Music FridayAll New Indie, The Other List, Loops). The track has topped 1 million streams on Spotify, and the video has been watched over 1 million times on YouTube.

Of the new track, Tracey says: “Lyrically, Caution To The Wind is a simple song about arrival and seizing the moment, so with the music we tried to capture the feeling of a perpetual point in time.”

“I let the words quickly collapse and loop inside the production,” continues Ben. “The drums emerge and repeat, and everything then starts to unfold in cycles of anticipation and release. I guess it’s just classic nightclub tension and euphoria.”

Written and produced by Ben Watt and Tracey Thorn over the spring-summer of 2021, Everything But The Girl’s new album Fuse is a modern take on the lustrous electronic soul the band first pioneered in the mid-90s. Thorn’s affecting and richly-textured voice is once again up front in Watt’s glimmering landscape of sub-bass, sharp beats, half-lit synths and empty space, and as before, the result is the sound of a band comfortable with being both sonically contemporary, yet agelessly themselves.