Show Me The Body are sharing a new video from their latest album Dog Whistle. Premiered via Nowness, ‘Arcanum’ is co-directed by Brooklyn-based filmmaker and documentary photographer Landon Yost and Show Me The Body themselves. The visual features candid shots of the people that make up the band’s home, New York City. It starts with a montage of footage spanning from graveyards to a taxidermy studio to a bustling street, and as the video progresses the physical film that makes it up is slowly destroyed.

“The idea for ‘Arcanum’ originated from an experimental film I made 3 years ago. Since then I’ve been experimenting with the film burning process,” says Yost. “The piece was very collaborative – the band and I fleshed out the moments and tableaus we felt were emblematic of what ‘Arcanum’ stands for. The burning process was the most challenging component. With the expertise of our friends at Negative land I was able to dial in the precise style of burning we were after — a complicated 12 hour, 4 person endeavor. It felt like the right final step; take everything we’d done and set it on fire.”

Show Me The Body is also releasing their 2014 debut EP Yellow Kidney for digital download for the first time. The EP will be available exclusively on Bandcamp for 24 hours only with all proceeds going directly to the band. Purchase the EP here.

‘Arcanum’ is the sixth video from the album following ‘USA Lullaby,’ ‘Drought,’ (the crowd sourced video featuring the band’s coffin renditions that are the tangible signs of the community SMTB built) ‘Forks and Knives,’ ‘Madonna Rocket,’ and ‘Camp Orchestra.’ The visual follows their North American headlining run last November and their support dates with Daughters and HEALTH in December.

Dog Whistle

1. Camp Orchestra
2. It’s Not For Love
3. Animal In A Dream
4. Badge Grabber
5. Drought
6. Forks and Knives
7. Now I Know
8. Madonna Rocket
9. Arcanum
10. Die For The Earth To Live
11. USA Lullaby

Write A Comment