The Legend Of Sleepy Hollow, Theatre, Tour, TotalNtertainment

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow on tour

Stars of the stage and screen, will lead a thrilling new production of The  Legend of Sleepy Hollow.

Stars of the stage and screen, Wendi Peters (Big! The Musical; Coronation Street) and Bill Ward (Everybody’s Talking About Jamie; Emmerdale), will lead a thrilling new production of The  Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Washington Irving’s classic tale has been adapted by acclaimed  playwright Philip Meeks (Murder, Margaret and Me; Harpy), unleashing one of the most  terrifying monsters from the horror canon on stage – the Headless Horseman. The ghoulish and  edge-of-the-seat experience will tour theatres across the UK later this year.  

With Hallowmas fast approaching, Sleepy Hollow simmers with anticipation. Arriving as the new  teacher, Ichabod Crane finds himself embroiled in the secrets and unsettling traditions of the  locals. However, all is not as it seems. When disturbing events overwhelm the small town, he  finds himself swept up in a dangerous mystery which leaves him doubting his own sanity. 

Transforming the American Dream into the American Gothic, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow unleashes terror on the stage, in a heart-pounding visual masterpiece directed by Jake Smith (The Hound of the Baskervilles; A Christmas Carol; I’m Gonna Pray For You So Hard), with jaw dropping illusions by Filipe J. Carvalho (Back To The Future The Musical; Secret Cinema presents  Stranger Things). Tilted Wig is excited to return to stages across the UK with their incredible new  touring production. This haunting premiere revitalises a classic text for a new audience. 

Director Jake Smith comments, Sleepy Hollow is undoubtedly one of the greatest horror  stories ever written and a tour de force to stage. This production has at its heart the power of  nomadic storytelling and gathering around the campfire for a good ghost story. It is an  important story for now as we look at conversations around the identity of nations,  communities and humankind throughout the world.

This production has allowed an incredible ensemble of actors to viscerally and inventively bring  the Hollow to life. It is a piece that shines on our actors’ athleticism, which is really exciting as we  look to theatre returning. We look forward to transporting the audience through a quest of logic  and illusion, creating fear and defying expectation. 

Performance Dates  

30th September – 2nd October Churchill Theatre Bromley  https://churchilltheatre.co.uk/Online/ 

5th – 9th October York Theatre Royal  https://www.yorktheatreroyal.co.uk/ 

12th – 16th October MAST, Southampton  https://www.mayflowerstudios.org.uk/ 

18th – 23rd October Yvonne Arnaud Theatre  https://www.yvonne-arnaud.co.uk/ 

26th – 30th October Oldham Coliseum  https://www.coliseum.org.uk/ 

2nd – 6th November Malvern Theatres  https://www.malvern-theatres.co.uk/ 

8th – 13th November Edinburgh Kings Theatre  https://www.capitaltheatres.com/your-visit/kings-theatre 

16th – 20th November Darlington Hippodrome  https://www.darlingtonhippodrome.co.uk/ 

23rd – 27th November Devonshire Park Theatre, https://www.eastbournetheatres.co.uk/venue/devonshirepark-theatre 

29th November – 4th December Southend Palace Theatre  https://southendtheatres.org.uk/Online/default.asp