Hamza, Music, 140 BPM 2, TotalNtertainment, New Release

Hamza releases new album ‘140BPM 2’

“Hamza makes instantly memorable music that transcends language.” – Pitchfork

HAMZA is carving his own distinct path as the missing link between the Atlanta, Toronto and Brussels scenes. The multifaceted Belgian-Moroccan artist has already made a huge impression, topping the charts in France, opening for Drake at the Paris Arena and earning the attention of tastemakers such as COLORS, Pitchfork and OVO Sound.

Now HAMZA is set to rise to the next level as he today drops his new project ‘140 BPM 2’. It comes hot on the heels of his smash ‘BXL Zoo’ with Damso, which went to #1 in France and reached 24 million streams at Spotify after being released last autumn. He sets the bar high with the incendiary drill track ‘Don’t Tell’, which features Headie One, who topped the UK’s Official Album Chart late last year with ‘Edna’.

Headie One is just one of a number of big names who appear on the album. French heavyweights Zed (from 13 BLOCK), Gazo, Guy2bezbar and Kaaris all feature, while its production come from a host of Belgium’s elite beatmakers.

Born during the first lockdown, the ‘140 BPM’ project finds HAMZA embracing the signature drill tempo. The concept originated during the first lockdown, an exceptional situation which resulted in HAMZA recording himself at his home studio. That, together with facing an uncertain future, resulted in a new experiment approach. The three tracks he released last year provided a flavour of what to expect from the album – a darker atmosphere and the evolution of his sci-fi inspired ‘140 BPM’ character.

The rapper, singer, label founder (Just Woke Up) and producer first came to prominence with the ground-breaking mixtapes ‘H-24’ and ‘1994’. He quickly forged a reputation as a pioneering force on the burgeoning Brussels rap scene. HAMZA, also known as SauceGod, has collaborated with countless leading European rappers as well as the likes of Christine & The Queens and Aya Nakamura. His huge success was confirmed with the release of his Gold-certified debut album ‘Paradise’ in 2019.

‘140 BPM 2’ tracklist:

  1. ‘PTSD’
  2. ‘Keke’
  3. ‘Réel’ (featuring Zed)
  4. ‘Cheikh’
  5. ‘Don’t Tell’ (featuring Headie One)
  6. ‘Fake Friends’
  7. ‘Torino’
  8. ‘Spaghetti’ (featuring Gazo & Guy2Bezbar)
  9. ‘Spider’
  10. ‘AMG Technology’
  11. ‘Hara-Kiri’ (featuring Kaaris)
  12. ‘Jalousie Lyrics’
  13. ‘Gang Activity’