Texas have revealed ‘Fight The Feeling – Demo’, the fourth track to be taken from their digital-only EP, ‘Southside Demo’. The EP, which arrives alongside the ‘Southside Covers’ EP, will be released on 11th September 2020 through UMC/Mercury.

Recorded in 1987 in Glasgow, ‘Fight The Feeling- Demo’ is an early version of the fan favourite from their critically acclaimed album, ‘Southside’. Speaking of the track Sharleen Spiteri said, “’Fight the Feeling’ goes back to the very start of the band. It was one of the first three songs that we ever recorded as Texas.” She continues, “We’ve searched for these recordings for a long time and they were recently found in the Universal vaults in America, they have not been listened to since 1987.”

Listen to ‘Fight The Feeling – Demo’ HERE

Compiled and curated by the band, ‘Southside Demos’ is a seven track digital-only EP featuring six previously unreleased demos recorded in Glasgow between February and December 1987. The EP also includes a previously unreleased mix of, ‘I Don’t Want A Lover’ by Bernard Edwards of Chic, which also features Tony Thompson of Chic on drums and was recorded at Burbank Studios in LA in summer 1987. The band will release a new track from ‘Southside Demos’ every Friday through to release on the 11th September.

The second of the two EPs, ‘Southside Covers’, was recorded at the band’s legendary gig at The Paradiso in Amsterdam in June 1989. The EP features previously unreleased live covers of John Lee Hooker’s ‘Dimples’ and the Whitfield/Strong composition ,’Can’t Get Next To You’, which was covered by The Temptations and Al Green. Also included are live covers of ‘It Hurts Me Too’ by Elmore James and an epic cover of Stevie Wonder’s ‘Living For The City’.

Formed in 1986 by the undeniably brilliant Sharleen Spiteri and her partner in crime, Johnny McElhone, Texas have made consistently great music throughout their stellar career; they’ve sold over 40 million records, had 13 top ten UK singles, 3 #1 UK albums and 8 top ten UK albums including their latest, ‘Jump On Board’.

Pre-Save ‘Southside Demos’ HERE & ‘Southside Covers’ HERE



Write A Comment